The event was convened by Don Weir – of the Timaru Yacht and Powerboat Club – who says Lake Tekapo racing will now become an annual event, falling under the umbrella of the existing Roaring 40s series.

“This event (races 7 and 8 of the 9-round series) is usually held offshore at Timaru, but the weather at this time of the year often doesn’t cooperate – it’s too rough. So rather than cancelling the event, we elected to hold one of the two scheduled races on the lake where the conditions are a little more benign.”

As it happened, the second race did take place the following day, though conditions were marginal, says Don.

Held under the auspices of the New Zealand Boat Marathon Commission, the Roaring 40s series visits a variety of lakes in the South Island – including Dunstan, Roxburgh, Benmore and Aviemore. The final event is scheduled for Lake Waihola on 31 July.

(Photos: George Empson)