Beattieful – an immaculately-restored wooden clinker runabout built by Jim Beattie and restored in 2010 – won the Jens Hansen Cup for the Best Vessel Overall at this year’s NZ Antique & Classic Boat Show. Story by Lawrence Schaffler, photos by Dan Kendrick.

The event – held at Lake Rotoiti in the Nelson Lakes National Park in early March – drew 110 entries and several hundred spectators.
Beattieful is named after the original builder and is owned by Porirua’s Graeme Dutch who says it was used in the Pelorus Sound from 1961-2002, in Kaiapoi from 2002-07, and is currently homed in Picton.

IMG_7298 (1) (Small)

The 16-foot clinker is powered by a 60hp Yamaha outboard. She is a veteran of the show and won the Mathieson-Jeffcott trophy for the Best Motor-Powered Craft in 2010.
Judges spokesman Ben Cox said Beattieful stood out for her authenticity: “The attention to detail, the standard of the finish and touches like the deck hatch and little table in the cockpit really impressed us.”
He added that the overall standard at the show was very high, representing a love of boats “from the backyard builder to wealthy enthusiasts with impeccable, imported boats.”
IMG_7310 (1) (Small)
Elray III is a vintage racing hydroplane, and restoring her, says co-owner Peter Rainey, was a “mad but extremely interesting labour of love.” Her rotten and engineless hull was discovered in Hokitika.
“When Elray was built in 1967 she was the fastest boat in New Zealand and featured on the cover of Seaspray magazine that year.

IMG_7423 (1) (Small)
Elray III

What’s really special is that we had the original driver, Jon Jarvie and his wife, the daughter of the original owner, Jock Appleton, coming down from Auckland to see Elray on the water.”
Rainey says the massive restoration was a community effort helped by Peter Stillwell and Richard and Donald Walker. Elray is now resplendent in her original colours and is powered by a big-block Chevy.
“Part of our motivation is the potential we see in New Zealand to get a historic race circuit going. This has become huge in the USA and right now we know of six other racing boats being restored, just in the South Island.”
IMG_7380 (1) (Small)
Best New Craft: Phantom II, Malcolm and Merridee Jeffrey, Helensville
Best Restoration: Elray III, Pete Rainey and Glenn Common, Nelson Port
Nelson House Parts Best Rowed Craft: Toroa, Russell Maxwell, Stoke
CWF Hamilton Trophy for the Best Jet-propelled Craft: (no name), Nelson Lipinski, West Melton
Johnson Family Trophy for the Best Sail-Powered Craft: Solitude, Mike Hadfield, Nelson
Mathieson/Jeffcott Trophy for the Best Motor-Powered Craft: Jueena, Mike McMillan, Nelson
Best Outboard Motor Boat: Luna, Philip & Gwen Mladenov, Mapua
Eventiac Award for the Best Themed Display, and the People’s Choice Award: Solo, Keith Henson, Picton
Ron Culley Trophy for the Best Steam Boat: India, Rick Osborne, Renwick